Yep.

Some dumb objections I have heard when discussing privacy in the context of analytics

Don’t laugh too hard—you probably also said some of these things at some point!

Mikael Vesavuori
5 min readDec 27, 2020

--

For context, I cut these to keep my forthcoming article “GDPR and overall privacy compliance, the TL;DR version” (link coming soon!) short and very TL;DR. You might want to read that one too!

Needless to say: I represent only myself and the tone is intentionally a bit snarky. I however do not apologize for opinions nor the factual statement that privacy is a dumpster fire and you and I and everyone else should do better.

Without further ado…

Objection #1: “Are you trying to say that Google Analytics is illegal, as in non-compliant with GDPR, ePrivacy Directive and so on…?”

In short: No, Google Analytics as a tool and processor is not “illegal”.

The longer answer is that the default configuration is not compliant (also see Piwik’s blog post). There is also a significant piece that is…

--

--